Scaling the Mountain

I don't know what I want or what I'm capable of. Let's find out.

Critique My Text Game 1

This was girl no. 2 from my 7 daytime approaches the other day. She seemed open to getting a drink when I got her number for that purpose. She was responsive, but looking back maybe not in a way that showed she was interested in coming on a date.

A month or so ago I found Yohami’s Rules of Text Game and Yohami’s pre-flake text breakdown really helpful at getting the right mindset for texting, or at least undoing my natural anti-game inclinations to chase and pull. Also helpful was Playing With Fire as recommended by NightRoller. Of course, now I risk trying too hard in this direction, which I think is what I did here. I lost her, but it feels like it was going OK till I made some blunder.

I’m not asking for optimal moves (only experience will teach me), and the element of chance means there’s not necessarily any combination of texts that would succeed. I’m just curious if there are any glaring no-no’s that I should try not to repeat. Have at it!


2 responses to “Critique My Text Game 1”

  1. Don’t say “Sup” to a PhD student. Bad KYIL-ism.

    Your texting is fine. She just wasn’t interested for whatever reason. Probably due to the initial interaction.

    Another improvement: try to increase her compliance before closing. You seed a date after getting a No. Like Yohami says: “ramp” into it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Late to it, but my recommendation would be to reduce the amount you’re trying to get her to reply to.

    In your text that asked when she was free, there were 2-4 threads for her to respond to. Girls choose the easiest 1 or 2, usually, and don’t always respond to everything—nor should you always respond to everything (pointedly ignoring something has its uses).

    So when you gave so many options, she picked the least brain- and calendar-intensive ones.

    And as PM said earlier, you want to close a bit more gradually. I’ve gotten into the habit of using a 3 step sequence for getting to the date stuff on the app to get the number, and I’m always getting the number for a reason—and then in the first 2-3 texts over phone number I’ll ask when she’s free as a standalone text. No need to dally

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started